Skip to Page Content  |  Text Only Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
 RSS  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Delaware Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Commission

The Commission

Photo of Abraham Lincoln.The Delaware Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Commission was established by an Act of the 143rd General Assembly, House Bill No. 491, which was signed into law by Governor Ruth Ann Minner on July 10, 2006.

The Commission has the following duties under this legislation:

  1. To study and recommend activities that may be carried out by the State of Delaware to honor Abraham Lincoln during 2009, the bicentennial of his birth;
  2. To educate Delaware residents about the life of Abraham Lincoln, especially his years of service as President of the United States;
  3. To assist state and local governments and organizations with planning, preparation, and grant applications for bicentennial events, programs and projects;
  4. To plan and implement worthy activities to commemorate the bicentennial year;
  5. To coordinate federal, state and local bicentennial activities occurring in the State of Delaware.

There are 12 members of the Commission. Members are appointed by the Governor, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, The Lincoln Club of Delaware, The University of Delaware, and The Delaware Historical Society.

The Members of the Commission are: Mr. Justin Carisio; Hon. Richard R. Cooch; Hon. Nancy Cook, Thomas Herlihy, III, Esq.; Mr. C. Russell McCabe; Mr. Timothy Murray; Hon. Henry duPont Ridgely; Hon. Wayne Smith; Hon. Richard F. Stokes; David S. Swayze, Esq.; Hon. Harriet Smith Windsor; Hon. William L. Witham, Jr.

Last Updated: Thursday, 29-May-2008 08:30:21 EDT
site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |

Link to the State of Delaware Web PortalLink to the State of Delaware Web PortalLink to Delaware Facts and Symbols